S k a t e L o g     F o r u m
Inline Skating and Quad Roller Skating
Forum Hosts: Jessica Wright | Kathie Fry

FOLLOW US: Our Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Email    

Home - Forum Index - Africa Skating - Asia Skating - Europe Skating - Oceania Skating - Pan America Skating - Roller_Rinks - Friend the SkateLog Forum in Facebook - SkateLog Forum on Facebook

Forum Administrators: Jessica Wright and Kathie Fry | Email Us
Access code for buying and selling subforums: "skates"
How To Get a User Account and Posting Privileges in the SkateLog Forum
Use Google to Search the SkateLog Forum

Go Back   SkateLog Forum > Special Interest Skating Forums (sorted by number of posts) > Roller Derby Forum
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Roller Derby Forum Discussions about banked-track and flat-track roller derby events, teams, skaters, and training methods.

Old July 19th, 2014, 02:45 PM   #1
Lily Pad

Default Derby Endurance

So I'm just starting out in derby. My league takes everyone, since they're a startup, no matter your skill level. Mine's very low (confident forward skating) and so I go to practice and do what I can. What's killing me is my lack of endurance. I'm okay with doing dumbed down drills or struggling through them but my body just can't keep up -- whether it's a pace line drill or the pace of practice.

I skate as hard as I can, until my body collapses or I'm dry heaving, and I'd rather not struggle so hard or keep taking breaks. Are there any drills that will help get my endurance up?
Lily Pad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2014, 08:16 PM   #2
Daveho

im coming from the same thing at the moment, for the past few months ive been a high rotation jammer typically jamming 1 out of 3 sometimes 1 on 1 off and i have had a hard time keeping that pace.