S k a t e L o g     F o r u m
Inline Skating and Quad Roller Skating
Forum Hosts: Jessica Wright | Kathie Fry

FOLLOW US: Our Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Email    


Home - Forum Index - Africa Skating - Asia Skating - Europe Skating - Oceania Skating - Pan America Skating - Roller_Rinks - Friend the SkateLog Forum in Facebook - SkateLog Forum on Facebook

Forum Administrators: Jessica Wright and Kathie Fry | Email Us
Access code for buying and selling subforums: "skates"
How To Get a User Account and Posting Privileges in the SkateLog Forum
Use Google to Search the SkateLog Forum

Go Back   SkateLog Forum > Special Interest Skating Forums (sorted by number of posts) > Roller Derby Forum
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Roller Derby Forum Discussions about banked-track and flat-track roller derby events, teams, skaters, and training methods.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 24th, 2015, 08:21 AM   #1
BAMBY
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1
Default Helmet covers

HELLO DERBY FAMILY

We've had a debate in our rollerderby team regarding stars on helmets.

We basically are trying to find out. because our jammer did an apex jump, but was not awarded points because the stars of the helment cover were not on the side of her head by her ears.

Our team however believes that it doesnt matter where the two stars are on the helmet pantie cover, so long as they are viasable and on opposite sides of one another. And that the pantie itself follows the rules of sizing and position on the physical pantie.
BAMBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2015, 10:26 AM   #2
pennydreadful
Member
 
pennydreadful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 94
Default

Yep, it doesn't matter where they are sitting on your head.

I suspect the refs would possibly have a word with you if you wore it like that every time, as there is a clause about being able to challenge if the other team thinks your markings are confusing, and putting it on like that it might look like a pivot panty from the side. They have to challenge it though, can't just take your points away.
pennydreadful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2015, 08:22 PM   #3
llama of death
DIY nutter/Gearhead
 
llama of death's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Washington State (eastern)
Posts: 336
Default

Yep.

No requirement in the rules to wear the cover straight, only that the stars are visible.
__________________
'A Ferrari won't make you a Grand Prix driver, but a pinto won't even get you to the finish line.' - unknown
llama of death is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2015, 04:49 PM   #4
Kennedy
Go fast, turn left
 
Kennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,766
Default

1) The wftda rules a few revisions back required the stars to be visible and on opposite sides of the helmets. The rule did not say which side. These is a left side, right side, front side, back side and top side.

2) The current wftda rules do not require the stars to be on opposite sides of the helmet. Only requirement is that the need to be visible. Does not say to whom they need to be visible to. As long as there are 2 stars meeting the size, contrast requirements and are visible, all is legal.

http://wftda.com/rules/20141201/section/2.3
Kennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
helmet cover, jammer star, pantie, star

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.