S k a t e L o g     F o r u m

Closed in June of 2020

SKATELOG DOT COM: Web Site | Blog | Facebook |    


*** The SkateLog Forum Has Been Replaced by SkateDebate Dot Com ***

This announcement is to let everyone know that after hosting the SkateLog Forum and its predecessors for nearly 20 years, I have decided it is time to permanently turn the forum over to a new owner and administrator. I cannot think of anyone more suitable to take on that role than my SkateLog forum co-host, Florida skater Jessica Wright. I am pleased to announce that Jessica has agreed to establish and host a brand new skating forum, configured like the SkateLog Forum, but with a new name and a new Web Site. This new forum is 100% owned and operated by Jessica.

NEW FORUM NAME: SkateDebate Forum
NEW WEB SITE: SkateDebate.com
REGISTER IN JESSICA'S FORUM: Create a SkateDebate Forum User Name

Go Back   SkateLog Forum > Special Interest Skating Forums (sorted by number of posts) > Roller Derby Forum
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Roller Derby Forum Discussions about banked-track and flat-track roller derby events, teams, skaters, and training methods.

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 24th, 2015, 08:21 AM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1
Default Helmet covers


We've had a debate in our rollerderby team regarding stars on helmets.

We basically are trying to find out. because our jammer did an apex jump, but was not awarded points because the stars of the helment cover were not on the side of her head by her ears.

Our team however believes that it doesnt matter where the two stars are on the helmet pantie cover, so long as they are viasable and on opposite sides of one another. And that the pantie itself follows the rules of sizing and position on the physical pantie.
BAMBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2015, 10:26 AM   #2
pennydreadful's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 93

Yep, it doesn't matter where they are sitting on your head.

I suspect the refs would possibly have a word with you if you wore it like that every time, as there is a clause about being able to challenge if the other team thinks your markings are confusing, and putting it on like that it might look like a pivot panty from the side. They have to challenge it though, can't just take your points away.
pennydreadful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2015, 08:22 PM   #3
llama of death
DIY nutter/Gearhead
llama of death's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Washington State (eastern)
Posts: 323


No requirement in the rules to wear the cover straight, only that the stars are visible.
'A Ferrari won't make you a Grand Prix driver, but a pinto won't even get you to the finish line.' - unknown
llama of death is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2015, 04:49 PM   #4
Go fast, turn left
Kennedy's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Posts: 3,635

1) The wftda rules a few revisions back required the stars to be visible and on opposite sides of the helmets. The rule did not say which side. These is a left side, right side, front side, back side and top side.

2) The current wftda rules do not require the stars to be on opposite sides of the helmet. Only requirement is that the need to be visible. Does not say to whom they need to be visible to. As long as there are 2 stars meeting the size, contrast requirements and are visible, all is legal.

Kennedy is offline   Reply With Quote

helmet cover, jammer star, pantie, star

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.